Tivoli Pal

tivolipal.jpg
Last week I bought myself a Tivoli Pal. I can’t say I’m totally content.

Sound

Lacks bass. Middle range is ok but high frequencies rather dim. This leads to a messy overall picture. Especially in orchestral or pop music. Solo instruments and chamber music sound ok.

Some months ago I heard Tivoli Number One and was very impressed. I believe Pal’s lack of clarity and space is due to its weaker bass.

However, Pal is virtually perfect in talk programs.

Reception

FM reception is ok, even though the treble is often slightly distorted. I haven’t tried the AM. Tivoli can’t find any more FM stations than my year 1973 Philips transistor radio.

Design

Looks marvelous. Is very easy to handle and carry around the house. The reason I decided to buy this instead of Number One was that I wanted it to be portable.

Overall

Very good for its size but seriously overpriced. I’ve heard a lot of cheaper systems sounding better.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

